Awards, Accolades & Recognition 2018

Each year SSOS runs monthly competitions for its members. There are three categories in which members can compete in: Novice, Intermediate and Open. The point system is accumulative during the year. Overall point winners for each division are awarded at the December meeting. The winners for 2018 are:

  • Perpetual Trophy (Open Division) – Herbert Aberl
  • Winner Intermediate Division: Heather Formica
  • Winner Novice Division: Terry & Elena Stiles

Other Prizes awarded to members in 2018 include:

Jerry Schaack Trophy and Champion Australian Native Species Cultural Award HCC – Dendrobium Two Moons (Dorrit Moon x Daylight Moon) (SSOS Spring Show 2018) – Bob Harrison

Vic Pearce Memorial Trophy for Champion Laellinnae Alliance – Craig Trainor HCC Cattleya Jillian Lee ‘Coral Red’ and Cultural Award HCC (also Champion of SSOS Spring Show)

ANOS Medal for Native-Hybrid – Australian Artist (Craig Trainor)

Champion of SSOS Spring Show 2018

OSCOV Medal (Spring Show 2018) Reserve Champion – Cattleya  for Cattleya intermedia var orlata (M & B Larkin)

Cymbidium Orchid Society of Victoria (COSV) Plaque – Mary Green ‘Show Girl’ (D. Gibson)

Lobb Trophy 2018 – Elaine Kelly

Quality Awards:

HCC OSCOV Award to a seedling flowering for the first time – Lycaste Hanase x Shoalhaven. This is now known as Hanamikuuji ‘Hanna Hudson’.

Southern Suburbs Orchid Society:  Website | About UsContact Us | Facebook |Twitter

“Where Friends Meet”